This website may not work correctly in Internet Explorer. We recommend switching to a more secure modern web browser such as Microsoft Edge which is already installed on your computer.

View this website in Edge.

4th July 2017

The 5th edition of the National Palliative Care Standards (the Standards) and the Palliative Care Service Development Guidelines (the Guidelines) are now available.

The Standards have been developed to be utilised by specialist palliative care services to support the delivery of high quality palliative care for the person receiving care, their family and carers.

The 5th Edition of the Standards has reduced the number of Standards from thirteen to nine. Importantly they have been mapped to align with other Standards such as the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards and Aged Care Standards. According to Palliative Care Australia these changes will make it easier for health services to implement and report against the Standards.

The Guidelines will help health funders make decisions on the development of palliative care services and how public and private sector providers of palliative care organise and deliver services.

Palliative Care Australia  is calling for all governments to fund 2.0 FTE palliative care consultants per 100,000 population for community based specialist palliative care services. The current national average only sits at 0.9 FTE palliative care consultants per 100,000 population according to AIHW data.

Access full versions via links below:
The National Palliative Care Standards (5th edition)
Palliative Care Service Development Guidelines